TimeLapse

By JillyMint

Why is it?

View it large if you wish!
Why is it that, just as you get on the motorway (after struggling out of Birmingham) and just as the hail, sleet, thunder and lightning starts and there is no hard shoulder (because of the roadworks that are going on until 2014) and every lune is doing 90+mph; why is it then that you notice the little yellow warning sign that has appeared on the display?
No 'ping' or nice little MS Windows warning sound. No - it just appears. and sits there.
Now what do I do apart from wishing that I had read memorised every icon in the damned manual (which is in the boot). Do I stop? No I can't there's no hard shoulder. Do I put the hazards on and gradually stop? Hahaha - do you want to die? The engine's making funny noises. The cam belt's gone. I can smell burning. Is that smoke coming from the engine?
Calm down you idiot. It's yellow, not red. It must be just warning me. Keep going. It's only 90 miles (!) and the world is ending in a thunderstorm outside. I'm not getting soaking today. I'm going to keep going.

It's OK folks. I'm home, not broken down! I'll take it to the garage tomorrow to look at the emission control system (if the light's still on).

Advice to all budding car designers. It might be a good idea to have something to indicate when the warning expires and becomes a threat. A nice little voice (doesn't have to be human) saying "Hey Jill. It might be worth getting to a garage now/ asap/in 100 miles" would be of help, or a drop-down menu...

Why the bubbles? Just because I'm feeling flippant.
Enjoy the rest of the evening. Is Silks on tonight? x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.