Igor

By Igor

what????

Norman Wisdom; “As you get older three things happen. The first is your memory goes, and I can't remember the other two.”

Scene; the breakfast table.  (This is the same as the dining table, but in a different time zone)

I enter having been outside trying to blip the sunrise.

her; “is there any toast?”

I point to a pile of envelopes on the table.

me; “yes - a catalogue and two christmas cards”.

Blank looks all round.  “What?” “What?” “What you on about?”

It gets worse.  She goes into the utility room and then backs out rather shamefacedly. “I can’t remember what I wanted.”

She eventually remembers; cleaning paraphernalia.  We’ve a busy weekend ahead.  Her niece and fiancé (what a lovely old word ….. they’ve been walking out together for some time now…) are coming to stay overnight.  Then shortly after they depart tomorrow morning my daughter arrives for another overnight stay.  One spare bed, two sets of guests; a rapid visit to Dunhelm for spare pillow cases and duvet covers and then cleaning. Lots of cleaning.  No idea why because we’re not dirty.  Yet.  Maybe that’s to come.

And so it goes.  Is this how life will be from now on?  Miss-hearing, forgetting what we were going say or where we were going.   At least we laugh about it.  We can still remember how to do that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.