Skyroad

By Skyroad

The Conversation

Stayed with D last night. Watched 'Starred Up' before retiring, an excellent, grueling film set in a British prison. D still has a healthily Larkinesque contempt for the Christmas spirit but he's in a good space at the moment, his photography and film work finally getting some deserved attention, and he's met a lovely woman too. He's all aglow and has even bought a Christmas tree. Good to see him in such good form. 
In the morning his house full of leaf-shadows and slanting sunbeams for the garden: very cosy.

In the early afternoon I called in on Pat (on my way back from Greystones) and he drove us off onto Bray hill, into some old estate near Winegates (or whatever it's called). He's got a jazz gig coming up in Martinique, not for a good while but they want publicity pics. I already did a shoot with him in Bullock Harbour but the bloke, thinking of Martinique no doubt, asked if he'd do it again, this time with some 'greenery' and a guitar. We had fun anyway, telling filthy jokes and laughing dementedly to get Pat to loosen up (I had a vision of innocent families out for a walk nearby suddenly doing rapid u-turns). 

Later in town (to get a new power cord for my old Mac laptop) I wandered up Nassau Street, where I saw this intimate-looking tableau in a cafe. Who knows? Maybe they were just comparing gift lists or fave TV programmes, or finalising their divorce. But I like the gestures and expressions, lit yet partly obscured by that curtain of Christmas lights. The scene reminds me of that great  1970s conspiracy movie, The Conversation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.