mef13

By mef13

One Hundred Blips . . . Plus One

So 100 blips published and I am taking a nostalgic journey back to my first one in September . . . back to Testwood Lakes.

Mind you it was a lot wetter underfoot on the pathways today, and you really needed to keep off the grass areas which were decidedly soggy. But the series of lakes which are a nature reserve and act as a reservoir for Southampton and the Isle of Wight, are full. And that in itself is very different from when I was last here in September.
Then the water level was quite low, forming extensive gravelly beaches around the biggest of the lakes. Today all evidence of the beaches had gone, and the water was high. One part of the lakes had almost dried up in the heat of the summer, so it was encouraging to see them back to their natural state today.
It is just under a mile to take the footpath round the biggest lake and is a favourite route for dog owners, and for people like me who look to walking for exercise, yet with some purpose in mind.
But maybe I can wait to spring before I return on a daily basis. By then hopefully the footpaths will have dried out and it will be much less wet and messy underfoot.
Even so I wouldn't have missed the 101st Blip from this place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.