The Egyptian Revolution - Up In Smoke?

I sat on the verandah of my local cafe in Cairo and drafted the epilogue to my book. I wrote the prologue nearly six months ago to the day in the same seat. The content does not make happy reading for the future of Egypt nor for the survival of the hope that was so palpable after the 25th January 2011 Revolution. I said my good byes to the staff of the cafe. The first guy kissed me on both cheeks, others shook my hand and the last one said, 'Good boy!' He got the prize for making a customer feel good . . . and he wasn't mispronouncing the word 'bye'!

On the way back to the flat I dropped into the laundry to drop off some clothes. I'll pick them up when we come back in a little over three weeks. That will be in time for the 4th anniversary of the revolution. I wonder how they will celebrate it.

This taken at the back of the Egytian Museum as we passed on the way to the airport.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.