Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

New bus for Port Appin Day 5.

Today I reached the 'first fit' stage.  Actually it was about the 3rd fit because I awoke with a streaming cold and feeling dog rough.  The first two fits were the result of decals tearing as I applied them. MrsDB heard my protestations and came into the office to see what the problem was.  I told her to "just mind it".  Then I had to go and apologise.  Oh dear, after 34 years of married bliss - our first row.

Todays pics show why I take close up pics as I progress.  The first fit stage is where I go around and tidy up raggy edges, dodgy paint and general bad stuff.  I've spent a bit of time on the front panel today adding blobs of PVA to the headlamp sockets.  When it dries it gives a clear finish and resembles headlight glasses.

The registration numbers have been applied and side adverts have been sourced from some of my many fleet history books.  In keeping with the relaxed early 1960's one side will advertise Senior Service Cigarettes and the other will probably beer a Dryboroughs beer advert or a Swan vests matches ad.  The top deck seats have their first coat of paint, much tidying to do there.

No work on the model tomorrow as it's a supermarket shop day and I'm on call as taxi driver for everyone.  So please look in on Tuesday for a progress report.  And thanks for following this project with so much enthusiasm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.