Found and Lost

By Paused

Blues and boat

Finished my paper! hopefully going to submit it later t today once my good wife has double checked my punctuation and spelling... She is SO much better at that than me :-)... I can finally get on with more Christmas things now.

I finished the work around 2 pm so managed to catch some light for an hours walk on Dover seafront whilst my daughter was in a swimming lesson.

Beer time for me now whilst I plan the rest of the food activities for Christmas and Boxing day.

a few others from my walk.

Blessings this the Winter solstice to you all.

“And so the Shortest Day came and the year died
And everywhere down the centuries of the snow-white world
Came people singing, dancing,
To drive the dark away.
They lighted candles in the winter trees;
They hung their homes with evergreen;
They burned beseeching fires all night long
To keep the year alive.
And when the new year's sunshine blazed awake
They shouted, revelling.
Through all the frosty ages you can hear them
Echoing behind us - listen!
All the long echoes, sing the same delight,
This Shortest Day,
As promise wakens in the sleeping land:
They carol, feast, give thanks,
And dearly love their friends,
And hope for peace.
And now so do we, here, now,
This year and every year.”

Susan Cooper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.