The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

L. Maladee

I'm not apologising for this food photo. I've been waiting over two and a half years for tonight's meal.

Back in March 2012 I went to a restaurant called 'L. Maladee' and had one of the best meals of my life. I went back twice, taking different people each time, but I wish I'd gone back more during my two weeks on the island. I've since recommended it to many people but most have failed as the restaurant shuts (along with many other local businesses) for about half the year during low season.

Staff come to your table with a plate of fish caught that day. You choose the type of fish (I chose red snapper) and the size and they cook it up with a family recipe coconut curry to the spice level you want. It's probably the best Thai curry I've ever had and this is now the third time I've had it (luckily it's still just as good). Having now been to Cambodia, I realise it's actually fairly similar to Amok.

I also ordered three amazing garlic sticky king prawns which had been a close second favourite last time. When the plate arrived, the waiter said "you ordered three but I've given you a fourth for a Merry Christmas!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.