Mon Repos

I will never ever forget my experience tonight.  It is one of the most wonderful things I have ever witnessed.  CCN and I visited the Mon Repos Turtle Rookery in Bundaberg.  The thrill of witnessing a majestic Loggerhead Turtle laying 131 eggs on the beach at Mon Repos will live with me forever.

It was quite surreal walking along the beach in the dark (no lights are allowed) with 50 other people.  Walking silently with great anticipation of what we were about to witness.  A Loggerhead had come ashore and we were following Ranger Joe to the site.  We were held back for quite some time until Joe was sure that the birthing process was in full swing.  We then all quietly gathered around and watched in awe as the white pearls dropped into the large hole that the turtle had dug in the sand.  Not a word was spoken, I think we were all memorised by what we were seeing.
By the way, we were only allowed to take our photographs when the ranger gave us permission, at all other crucial times our cameras were banned.

Joe informed us that the turtle would be very close to 30 years old and this was the first time it had revisited the beach where it was born to lay eggs for the first time in its life.  It would revisit the beach another three times during this birthing period this season.  How amazing.

Once the turtle had finished laying its eggs and filling the chamber its flippers (quite a site) it then slowly turned and made its way back to the beach.  I don't think there was a dry eye on the beach.  It was an incredibly emotional moment as the majestic creature disappeared into the surf.

Ranger Joe then carefully collected the 131 eggs from the hole and gently placed them in rows of 10 on the sand (very critical to count them).  While he was doing this, Pat his assistant was digging a large hole in the dunes above, a much safer place for the eggs.  When all eggs had been recovered we were asked to line up and one by one Joe handed us each two of the eggs to transport to Pat in the Dunes.  There they were very gently placed in their new home until they become hatchlings and start their fight to survive the treacherous journey back to the sea.  

The two eggs we held in our cupped hands were still warm and covered in sand just as you see in the image.  I had a lot to say to those little eggs before I handed them to Pat!!

I have added some additional images and here is a link to a fantastic video of their journey.  I urge you to take the time to view, I know you won't be disappointed.

PS - I think the look on the face of the little boy on the left of the group sums it up for me.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.