ztuzzer

By ztuzzer

Rob-bob-bobyn

Today I took a nice wonder out into the more rustic side of Leicestershire with my pals Alex and Tom. In the three years I had been at university, I pretty much exhausted all the attractions of Leicester City but never actually ventured much out in to the countryside. So a visit to Quorn, a small rural village 20minutes out of town, was a first for me. Exciting - perhaps not, but Peaceful - most definitely. We wondered for quite a while along a stream that led us out of town and into really picturesque countryside, I was actually really amazed at its tranquility and beauty - how had I not been here before! The trek took us along rolling hills, through dense forest, over a massive reservoir and by the side of old train tracks - complete with a steam train! 


Being in such peaceful surrounds leaves you blissfully chilled out, so much so that the wildlife didn’t even batter an eyelid at us. At one point, a robyn happily bobbed along the track we were on. We froze in place, but he did not. He continued to hop along the floor, beneath our feet. It was actually the most perfect photo opportunity, but also the most perfectly inconvenient situation for my camera to run out of memory. I fumbled around trying to rapidly decide which photos were deletable, but really, in my desperation in trying to capture the moment I paradoxically lost it. I think sometimes it is important just to put the camera down and appreciate what you have in front of you.  Nevertheless, I managed to capture this photo, still quite close but not to same extent of proximity he was at before - I think this photo will act as a reminder to myself to embrace the moment more often. It’s not everyday you have a wee lil robyn bob-bob-bobing around your feet.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.