Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Hairy Beetle

A strange looking creature that I have only seen once before, according to my photo records, and even then it was a different species in the same family.

I don't have an ID for this family, if any of you feel up to a challenge, but I am distracted with a lot of work at the moment.

Particularly conspicuous, apart from the hair, are the shape of the eyes. Most beetles are capable of flight, but I strongly suspect that flight is low on this beetles list of abilities, due to the fact that the group of three ocelli are missing.

Many bugs have this dimpled casing and I have read that this protects against the intrusions of parasite wasps. I read this while researching cuckoo wasps, which enter the nests of other species of wasps at great personal peril.

None of the above is fact, just logic and deduction. I would be interested in other opinions, as always.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.