The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

One Last Selfie

2014 has been the year of the selfie ... to the point of distraction.

The constant readers amongst you will know I have blip-ranted about selfies and gigs, and how it's all about "being there" now and getting that Facebook Status up and not actually about what is going on around you.

Selfies have made the news on a regular basis, for good and for bad. The absurd nature of people jumping in the way of rally cars or Tour de France cyclists just bewilders me.

A week or so back someone climbed on stage at a punk gig in America. They didn't want to stage dive, they tried to get a selfie with the guitarist .. said guitarist booted the phone about 40 feet into the crowd.

The selfie fad was fun, but I suspect the time to move on has come. This will probably not be the last self portrait on here, or group photo of people I am with, but this will be the last intentional selfie I will do.

It was a good one to go out on ...

I went down to the Barn with Big Dave and Matt Cohen tonight for some festive beers. We had a cracking evening chatting and putting the world to rights. We covered the entire musical spectrum in conversation I think. It was great fun!

And so Christmas week begins ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.