SueV

By SueV

Whitby Abbey

Had a troll round Whitby today. I was seventeen when I was last here and I thought I would remember loads of things but all I was familiar with was the Abbey and the Lucky Duck Shop. I couldn't remember it being quite as steep as well. I seem to remember Whitby as flat - probably age catching up on me there.  I remembered the beach where I got stung by a giant Jellyfish when I was eleven and the misery of it. I remembered a house we once rented at Ruswarp and we went to see it. It was still a pretty little house but now surrounded by industry  that had grown up over the last forty years - it was like they were the only people not sold out to the developers. We went to the Abbey only this time I didn't race my sisters up the Abbey steps nearly 300 but took the road round to the visitor centre behind the Abbey (I do need a knee replacement though)
then we went to Robin Hoods Bay and down the steep near vertical road to the Bay Hotel (by car)   -  very pretty. The tide was in so no trotting out into the bay to discover numerous fossils or view the many kinds of crabs they have on the beach. I remember Pea Crabs, Pearl Crabs, Spider Crabs and of course Hermit Crabs which I used to find hugely amusing after I had turned them upside down, a few minutes would pass by and then this huge claw would poke itself out of the shell, turn itself the right way up and scuttle away obviously affronted. Then we went to 'The Jolly Sailor'  which didn't seem so jolly. Back to the hotel for dinner composed of Scallops with Sea Bass and various Vegetables and Samphire beautifully cooked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.