Leiflife

By Leiflife

Olivia's Visit

Olivia came to help me wrap presents on Saturday. You may remember Olivia from Kendall's blips of her visit to Portland. Well... She is home from the holidays, having completed her first semester at Spring Hill College. It has been a while since I have had the joy of a one on one with my eldest grandchild. So it was sure to be a time of catching up.

You ask me: Did you get any gifts wrapped? Perhaps you know how tempting it is to sit on a soft green couch...coffee mug in hand, and dive into a sweet exchange with one you love. Livvy and I have a history of being ourselves when we get together. There is trust; no need to pretend with this one. She wants her real Nanny or none at all. So I share my dreams and my vanished dreams...my struggles to live in intimate contact with family while remaining true to self. Perhaps this is why she feels free to tell me of her deeper reality: her quest for freedom, while entering the sometimes daunting world of adulthood and independence. We speak of serious things, yet we also laugh out loud at the absurdities of life. Olivia is so wise.

No...we did not wrap presents. Instead we were reminded of a nineteen-year-old bond that has never slipped. And many hugs were exchanged... She is coming back today with her brother, Wyatt. Will we wrap any presents? Who knows? Who cares?   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.