investigations of a dag

By kasty

Danza Contemporanea de Cuba

no photography at the event so I'm going for an arty picture off my laptop angle

Pictured you have the Olivier award winning Mambo 3XXi

But I was just blown away with Itzik Galili's new choreography Sombrisa. Performed with boxing gloves it starts with a stiff syncopated face off, before flowing into a fluid frenzy, leaping acrobatics and slinky linked armed entropy at the end. Sometimes it's a fight, sometimes it's love, sometimes it's sex, sometimes it's friendship or groups - but always always are the dancers strong and stunning and occasionally.. even smiling. We were close enough to hear them laugh, sing and breath, but there was hardly a sound when they landed despite the height of the double helix spins or somersault lifts.

And they achieved that most rare thing of all in contemporary dance, laughter - their Carmen?! camped up the machismo all the way to cattle-molestation.

Beautiful evening courtesy of my lovely and very cultured cousin Clare who got me the tickets. All I had to do in return was feed us my legendary 10 min meatballs made out of spicy sausages. Clearly I got the better part of this deal..



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.