stuartjross

By stuartjross

Selfie

We had friends and their children round for nibbles and drinks. Mrs SJR's friend C suggested it would be nice if each family got their picture taken. No stress there then. I am very uncomfortable using my ancient manual flash. You need to consider flash to subject distance in conjunction with guide number to calculate F stop setting. It may not give you the best setting so then you fiddle with ISO. The guide number is only valid at ISO 100. I was then trying to bounce it off a white card, another layer of complexity. I threw away the calculator and before anyone arrived did some trial and error shots with myself a reluctant subject.
As you can see my trial and error approach continued digging way deep down in the Photoshop menus.
I find these semi formal shots quite difficult and flash considerations aside I think I learned quite a lot in the ten minutes. Anyway our friends all seemed to be happy with their respective group images. 

I'm on the right by the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.