euanrphoto

By euanrphoto

Glasgow

Today was an incomprehensibly sad day for Glasgow. Another one far too soon after the last. 

I wasn't born here and didn't grow up here, but it is above any other place where I feel at home. It is a city of character and fun and friendliness and something else that can't really be described. It is a city of its own and I will always love it with all my heart. And so, when something happens as tragic as the events of today in George Square, it hits home. It's like my own family or friends have been taken. 

Horrific things happen every day, but it's often difficult to absorb their true impact until they happen this close to home. 

I don't know the people involved today but I feel such a deep sadness for they way that they have so abruptly passed. 

I went into the city today to do some Christmas shopping and I had an idea if the image I wanted for this 365 project (reflecting how busy the place was). After what happened the concept of Christmas shopping seemed so insignificant. 

A few years ago, with my best friend, I took a photo which is one of my personal favourites. I went to do something similar tonight as I hope it captures some of the vibrancy and light that I feel every time I arrive in the city and is maybe more appropriate tonight that the rammy of the Christmas rush. 

Thoughts are with the family and friends of this affected today. 

Rest well x 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.