Lake Benmore

I'm staying at Lake Benmore.  A beautiful man made lake that was created in the 1960's as part of the hydroelectricity scheme.  It is approximately 75km2 and is fed by four major rivers - Oahu, Tekapo, Pukaki and Ahuriri.  Benmore flows through New Zealand's largest earth dam into Lake Aviemore.

I didn't move far from camp today.  The boaties were up early and I headed down to the boat ramp at 10 to watch them launch.  2 hours later I staggered back to the van after a 5km walk in the rapidly escalating heat.  

I just couldn't resist meandering along the lake (the Alps to Ocean cycle track runs alongside the lake at this point), and the walk 2.5km east was lovely, the walk back was a darned sight hotter.  Thank goodness for the odd willow that shaded the track, where I was able to stop and cool off a little.

Of course I had to constantly stop to take photos, and then to chat with family groups who were settling into picnic spots for the day.  It seemed really busy with boats, waterskiers and fishermen today, but I'm assured that this is 'quiet' and the real crowds will arrive on Boxing Day (the day I leave).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.