Suprasensorial

addendum: as soon as I posted this, I got a notif that it is my 500th! I lost track of the count altogether. oh my, I can only imagine that it is because blipping has become 2nd nature?! No long speeches, only my thanks for the opportunity of visiting your wonderful journals and for the time you take to drop in on mine. Now back to regularly scheduled programming... :)

That's the name of an exhibit at Washington's Hirshhorn gallery. The five installations that make up Suprasensorial: Experiments in Light, Color, and Space-heretofore known only to a small number of people-create enveloping optical effects that overwhelm and transform sensory experience. I loved it and must return to it, as we had to run out to get the car off the street before rush hour (still got a $150 ticket...). See the rest of the pictures

Today was my "culture" day. In addition to the Hirshhorn, started the day off with a visit to a street photog exhibit at the National Gallery of Art, featuring the works of Callahan, diCorcia, Evan Walker, Robert Frank and a few others. Went there with the instructor and participants of a photo workshop I took recently. What a fun bunch -- and a nice illustration of what that kind of photography really is. Something to aspire to... So decided to practice the 'genre' by hanging around the Mall and snapping random shots. A bit more work will be required on my part, I'm afraid :)

I finished the day with a performance of Verdi's Nabucco, which has now become my favorite opera. Ever. Have always preferred "big music" (Bethoveen over Mozart for instance) and this more than qualified, with voices that were out of this world and choruses that literally produced sound waves!

Life as a retiree is really good! :))






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.