In Bad Taste

Somehow the flaunting of Easter eggs just before Christmas seems very distasteful- a bit like producing a funereal wreath to celebrate the birth of a baby. And yes I obviously bought one, but only in order for its blip potential in highlighting the incongruity of what is becoming more and more a secular celebration.

There are Christmas cards on sale which are so profane that were the sentiments directed at religions other than Christianity there would be an outburst of indignation with fatwas issued against the perpetrators.

Elsewhere the people of Glasgow are manifesting mankind's basic goodness as they come together to mourn the people killed, injured and in shock at yesterday's tragic accident.

I know from my phone call to my Glasgow family today that people in Dennistoun have turned off their Christmas tree lights as a mark of respect.

I speak as an Edinburgher when I say  that the Glaswegians are the salt of the earth,  and it's hard to make sense of this tragedy coming as it does after last year's  Clutha bar accident but following on from the success of such a wonderful Commonwealth Games held in the city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.