Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

Christmas presents............

In Malawi the tradition of giving gifts at Christmas is not done!  Here, if people have rice instead of nsima (thick paste made from maize) and some chicken instead of beans or vegetables on Christmas day, then its a good Christmas.  In Mzuzu, we have lights on the roundabouts which were put on last week, and we have cashiers in Shoprite wearing santa hats.  Apart from that, there is no sign of Christmas.

I must admit, I like it that way!  So...........in keeping with the tradition in the land of my birth where we do give Christmas gifts, I made lots of cupcakes today so that tomorrow I can give people a little surprise.  Oh, and I also made Christmas cards too!   There is a lot of pleasure in giving!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.