RogMull

By RogMull

Paul..

Yesterday I announced I was stopping Blipping every day, after a year unbroken.  But I now want to post this photograph of Paul, and say a few words.

Blip enthusiasts will be aghast that this is not a photograph taken today.  They will simply have to live with it, something, sadly, Paul is no longer able to do.

A few hours ago, I received word that my very good friend Paul O'Connor from Belfast, one of the kindest and cheeriest men you could hope to meet, had suddenly died of a heart attack.  Totally unexpected from this larger than life character.

Paul worked as a senior manager in the college sector in Northern Ireland, at Belfast Metropolitan College.  He was devoted to the interests of students and his staff, but also cared deeply about the wider community in Northern Ireland.  He was also utterly devoted to his family, who must be devastated.

I never ever thought of Paul as a colleague, although he could fairly be described as such. From the earliest of moments together, many years ago now, he was simply a friend.  Yes, he offered professional advice, assisted me in many ways, but it was always with a smile, always sharing stories that showed the best in people, including in the most trying of circumstances.

This photo was taken in my last visit to Belfast earlier this year.  That smile will live on in the memories of everyone who knew him.

I will miss him greatly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.