The Blackcountry Man

By brickmaker

It's Them Pesky Sheep Again....

All was peaceful in the stable and in the Inn, Mrs BM The Inn Keepers wife was sitting by the fire with her daughter and husband when she thought she heard a feint bleating coming from the road.
"Is that what I think it is" she said to Mr BM The Inn Keeper, he winced and went to the window, "I can't see anything my dear" he said
"Thats because your not looking the right way, try up hill and not down" she shouted.
Then a knock came to the door, "Don't let them in" she called out in alarm.
Too late, The Inn Keeper opened the door just slightly and in the flock shot, straight into the Kitchen and out into the stable yard, (I know it's my Garden, just use your imagination).
Soon the garden was filled with sheep, and some of them looked very familiar indeed, in fact they were just like one I saw at a School.

The Inn Keeper shot outside with his daughter and asked the shepherds what they wanted?
To see the Baby and offer him gifts", they said "is he in the stable"?
"No" the Inn Keeper said, "the baby has yet to been born, you have come to early", "you need to go and come back in a few days".

Then his wife started off, "Have you seen all this muck in the all and kitchen, just like last year only much worse".
"You need to get them out of here and be quick about it too or else"

"I will my love, just as soon as I can get these damn sheep rounded up and out of the garden" he said.

At that the Shepherds rounded up all the sheep and off they went into the West.

Meanwhile BM The Inn Keeper, was seen scrubbing the kitchen floor with his wife standing over him.
"This is all your fault" she said, "Should never have taken in strangers"
"But we are an Inn my love, it's what we do", he said.

So we leave the Stable and the Inn, and watched as a flock of sheep headed up the hill and away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.