Majoayee

By Majoayee

Le porc-épic

Having one of these is a family tradition.  It started when I was very young.  Instead of making the traditional log my mother made a porc épique and as there was no room in the larder (was there a fridge in those days?)  she placed it on a chair in the coolest room - my Aunt's bedroom.  My Aunt not having been forewarned saw this creature in the half light and screamed!

The original recipe was 1/3 chestnut purée, 1/3 butter and 1/3 sugar!  Since part of the butter has been substituted for chocolate and then there is a chocolate coating and almonds for the eyes and spines!

When this was first made the chestnuts had to be boiled and peeled and a purée made; now I simply open a tin!

Not sure if I will have time to comment till after Christmas.  I wish all my blipfoto friends and their families a Very Happy Christmas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.