Stromness waterfront

The first flat calm day for a long, long time.  It was fairly quite in Stromness on Christmas Eve; except for Flett’s where there was the obligatory queue out on to the pavement.   I picked up my Mum and we met CMC’s mother off the boat -she is now feeling a lot perkier. 

On the way home we approached Ritchs’ House.  It was quite dark and the Ritchs always have the lights on and never draw the curtains.  I slowed down as I couldn’t fail to notice that in the kitchen was a mobile pink blob (admittedly the windows were a peedie bit steamed up).  I thought this must be Avril, stripped off, and having a good all-over wash in the kitchen sink.  I slowed right down - and took out the mini-binoculars that are always the car (for such incidents).  Both the mothers thought this was faintly disgusting and ‘no witty’.  Once I had focussed I realised that it indeed was Avril - but she was stuffing the turkey.  The turkey didn’t look too happy.  I don’t think Santa will be visiting me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.