The Flock

If you've spent any time perusing my Journal you've probably noticed that I'm very fond of Sandhill Cranes. They overwinter here in North Central Florida each year and observing/photographing them is just pure delight! Last year I purchased my own 'Flock'! A local artist fashions them out of PVC material, she paints them and attaches a swively thingy which allows them to twirl around on a  metal rod in the breeze, as free as any bird should be! I place them out in the yard when their live counterparts are coming into town and then pack them carefully away after the last Sandhill group 'kettles' and flies north. During the winter I move them from place to place in the yard. This photo is of them on the east side of the pond. They seem to enjoy being near the water but have not, as yet, ventured in. Not a very 'festive' shot but they are, in their own way, a very important symbol of the season...at least to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.