Scribbler

By scribbler

Things are looking up!

December Challenge / Viewpoint / Looking up
Paperclips and glass pots. 


All I Want For Christmas, Part II.

There are only three things I want for Christmas, and I already have two.
First, hot water.
Second, paperclips!

What is better than paperclips for temporarily keeping papers together?
I have been giving papers to J on a regular basis for the past year, clipped with a paperclip. I had a terrific stash, every color of the rainbow, some of them striped, some circular, metal and plastic, a collection of many years. Little by little they all went to J. Recently I started mock-complaining, "Am I ever going to get my paperclips back? I'm running out." She liked them too—she was actually keeping them in a little box and carrying them around with her!

This was J's Christmas gift to me. Three little handblown glass vases (3" tall) from the Portland Art Museum, each with a cunningly constructed necklace made of paperclips. I spent so much time photographing them that I felt like Anniemay in the garage. Igor, where were you when I needed you?!

The third thing I want for Christmas, of course, is to finally finish Part I of The Novel. (I'm seriously thinking of publishing it by itself as I continue working on the rest.) Given that it's Christmas Eve, I don't think I'll be done by tomorrow, but don't forget, Christmas hath twelve days. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL.
BLESSINGS OF PEACE, LOVE, AND JOY.

Edit: Used an antique filter to unify the color.
I just can't stop editing!!!
Edit: Forgot to remove "SOOC, cropped and slightly rotated."
As The New Yorker puts it, "Our Careless Authors"!
Edit: Replaced the image again with one that shows more color.
(Toned down the Antique filter from 4 to 1, increased the vignette.)
No, I might not be done. Watch this space. ;-)))))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.