The Army

I come from a Salvation Army family. My parents met through the Army, we were not christened but dedicated under the flag. My much loved Great Aunt was an auxiliary officer and when she was promoted to glory we donated a bookcase to the Blackpool Citadel in her name. I might not have a belief in a higher being but I have a great deal of faith in these guys.

Soldiers are not supposed to smoke or drink so when the Army insurance collector called at the door whoever answered had to shout loudly "It's the Army" so that my dad could dimp his fag before he went and paid them.

A couple of months ago I fell into conversation with the Salvation Army chaplain at a local nick. With a twinkle in her eye she told me that there were atheists and  Catholics, Baptists and Anglicans, Hindus and Muslims but no Salvation Army soldiers in the jail - she suggested that they were always honest :-)

And like other agencies the Army will be out on the streets tonight providing food and clothing and a kind word to those less fortunate than you and I. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.