Man

I took this photo and turned round to come face to face with a woman selling dango from a little table outside her shop. She says "hello"; I reciprocate. She asks me what I'm doing; I tell I'm taking photos of people in the street.

See looked nonplussed. I feel my explanation wasn't enough. I show her some photos, but she barely looks. She isn't interested in the camera.

I tell her that people are interested in seeing photos from Kita-senju. She finally smiles and agrees, and tells me that recently there has been a lot of photographers passing through the town. "Really?" I reply, "That's nice."

"Yes, and you know what? I heard there was even people taking photos on the train!"

"No!" I say, straining not to look shocked (previous blip)

"Yes, it's true!" (previous blip)

"I can't believe that!" (previous blip)

I'm flustered. Is she talking about me or someone else? It's hard to tell. Is this the talk of the town? (previous blip)

I change the conversation to England, and she tells me she's been to Oxford. Safe ground again, so I take the chance to say my goodbyes and do one, forth with! (previous blip)

Tokyo really is a random place. Just like the random go-kart track and neighboring yellow-taxi graveyard I stumbled upon today...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.