Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

MOORHEN AND CHICK

When the Professor saw this image, he went straight into George Formby mode:

I was standing on a lily pad
Feeling just a trifle sad
When a lady with a camera passed by
Oh me, oh my, a lady with a camera passed by...

I'm just a little ball of fluff
Not sure if I am strong enough
And I like to have my Mummy close by
Oh me, oh my, I like to have my Mummy close by

The water's wet and awfully cold
And I am only two days old
Oh me, oh my....


There were some other naughty Formyesque verses, but I have spared you those. In fairness to the Professor, I ought to point out that he is anything but the serious academic, up-his-own-anus type, and he is a wee bit embarassed at his nick name in this journal.

The Professor and I have a tradition of keeping Wednesdays free so we can go out for the day, usually walking or taking in a gallery or museum if there is a downpour. This practice has slipped for several reasons in the last few weeks, so it was good to be back to it today. Went to Culzean, one of our favourite haunts, and I was spoiled for blip choice. Most images were technically better than this one, but I did so enjoy seeing this brave wee thing following Mum desperately across the pond, swimming a little and resting on a lily pad whenever it had the opportunity - kind of the way I get about too.



THREE THINGS TO BE GRATEFUL FOR:

* Dry day, washing out
* A day out with my best friend
* Paper tissues - been through two boxes today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.