Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Kalpna

Kalpna is a vegetarian Indian restaurant where my friend Mary took me while she was in Edinburgh for the evening. It's the restaurant where I've eaten most often in Edinburgh - which isn't actually saying a lot, as I don't eat out much - it's just too expensive! I'm not vegetarian but the food at Kalpna is very different from traditional British Indian food. I hadn't been to Kalpna for quite a while and the menu had changed - some of my favourites had disappeared - but we had a very good meal all the same.

My GP phoned me on Monday evening to tell me that the x rays I had of my painful hip show arthritis, which was bad news - it's not going to get better. Probably the only solution is a hip replacement. Mary has rheumatoid arthritis and has had a number of joints replaced. We spent some time talking about hip replacements - like two old biddies discussing their ailments! I'm hoping that I can find a surgeon who is prepared to do a hip replacement - at present I have pain when walking and I cannot go for walks in the countryside as I've done for most of my life. I don't relish the idea of an operation at all, but I don't want to carry on like this for any longer than I have to. I do feel it's unfair - I'm not old enough to need a hip replacement! But then a small inner voice tells me that life isn't fair...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.