OzGeoff

By OzGeoff

Fatima Island

Our cat woke me quite early so I decided I would head down to Cooks River at Tempe and take a shot of Fatima Island.  The island is the only one in Cooks River and is located just off Kendrick Park.  Recently there has been a campaign to save it as it is slowly being eroded away by floods and wash from boats.

I thought it looked rather special in the early morning.  Because of the mangroves along the river it is difficult to find a good location for a photograph.

I understand the name ‘Fatima’ has it beginnings in a local Catholic Rosary pilgrimage in 1951.  It is located not far from Tempe House which has a catholic heritage.

We are heading away for three nights so may have to save my blips until I return home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.