New day - new beginnings

By gudnypalina

A messy kitchen

It's so nice having our children, children in law and grandchild visiting. The house is full of life and the only one not quite so happy is our old cat, who doesn't get the same attention she is used to. Also they are a bit sceptical of each other, the baby and the cat, so it's rather funny to observe their interactions. 

It's always my husband who does the cooking, so today I thought I might contribute in some way and make small pancakes (we call them "lummur"). I decided to try out a new recipe, with chia seeds and water instead of eggs. But obviously I didn't read the recipe good enough, so I managed to use a lot more chia seeds than I was supposed to, and the dough got so thick that I had problems baking from it. Also I couldn't quite control the heat so the pan got to hot and the fire alarm went off ... At the same time I decided to try for the first time to make a cocoa almond butter (kinda like Nutella, just homemade and healthier). To start with, I had to roast the almonds in the oven, and they got a little bit too toasted ... but in the end everything turned out OK :-) We ate the pancakes with the chocolate almond butter, maple syrup and whipped cream, and everybody was happy. But this is how the kitchen looked like during my baking adventure ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.