An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

On Reflection...

Last night, I was out shooting early to avoid the dullness, then the rain that followed.

Tonight, it was the other way around. Tomorrow, Saturday, might even be a half reasonable day. But Boxing Day itself I hadn't been out at all, no intended visits to shops or even supermarket. So, I had to get out for some air - and some precipitation - at some point.

Taking only my 'nifty-fifty' Nikkor D 50mm f1.4 standard lens on its intended full-frame camera body, I went out and found many shimmering night-time reflections. I don't have any Yuletide decorations or tree in the bedsit so it was nice to see Salisbury's so colourfully glowing in the wet night.

I did try to include the odd, rare, scuttling figure, like this ghostly lady harbouring an umbrella. The very fast 50mm allowed me to get a workable handholdable shutter speed whilst still keeping the iso levels low. I do prefer to close down the aperture by one stop, to tighten up the image quality, so shot this at f2, at 1/50 sec and iso 500.

You may ask why I didn't crop the right hand side out. That might have worked if there was no figure marching through the image, as one automatically scans it, from left to right. If I had had, she would be walking into a big dark void, with no escape. An image needs a visual journey for it to be successful, as I have often pointed out. Of course, this is only my opinion and some might disagree. I also extracted quite a lot of shadow detail, to show off the figure better and the Guildhall behind her.

Tomorrow does see that grocery shop, as staple things like bread are completely out. Plus other household chores that are so easy to ignore entirely over the holiday period.

I am bowled over that my Figsbury Ring mono finally got to the top of the Popular list. Huge thank you to ALL   

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.