SeaGypsy49

By SeaGypsy49

Havelock Museum.

We took Craig to Havelock today, and the staff from the home he lives in, brought a couple of the others through for a drive to pick him up. That saved me a 5 hour return drive to take him home.
Then we had to wait for 2 1/2 hours to get some people to bring back to 2 of the Lodges next door to us. 
First we had a coffee at the little shop that sells fudge........ you get a free piece with your coffee. Just enough for a 'sweet fix'. I went for the Russian fudge, and PJ had the Irish Cream, then he gave me his. Oh, thank you PJ!  I think next time I am in there, it will be the Irish Cream for me too. You can buy more if you want to.
While PJ went and put more petrol in the boat, I had a look in the little museum that has recently been done up. It is a vast improvement on what is used to be like. It is situation in the old church on the Main Road.
Havelock was the hub of milling for quite a while, and one plaque on the wall states: " Between 1864 & 1939 there was 325 million feet of native timber was shipped from Pelorus Sound."
This view shows some of the timber tools used. 
Havelock is also where Ernest Rutherford (he split the atom) & William Brownlee (he worked for NASA) went to school. If I could edit this, I would look up more details, and then put it in, put not sure how to do that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.