Tommy0161

By Tommy0161

St. Peter's Square....

I was worried when I saw the pictures of No.1 St. Peter's Square when it was first proposed. I thought that it was too big for the square, it might overwhelm the other buildings like Central Library and the Midland Hotel. I thought it looked stumpy and blocky.

But I have to say that I'm really impressed with the way it's turned out. The clever way they have arranged the windows that make it look shorter than it actually is, the good quality cladding that reflects the colour of the Central Library's Portland stone and the elegant curve of the Oxford Street facade have won me over. I think it's a great addition to Manchester's architectural lexicon.

And soon it's going to be joined by No. 2 St. Peter's Square. Three rather nasty 1960s building are coming down to make room for it. Sadly, rather attractive Century House is also coming down. They are all behind the tarpaulins.

I managed to get two trams crossing the half finished square. Where the one on the left is, is where the new tram station will be, moving it away from the site of where St. Peter's Church used to be. I think, when it's all finished in 2017, it's going to look like a great European Square. I just wish they could do the same for Piccadilly Gardens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.