Food Express

Firstly a very happy 80th birthday to someone special in the UK. My efforts to get an old fashioned postal message failed sadly although I suspect it might have got delivered with just the name. Still working on getting the postal code but the Kings Rd is long. Hope you have a very enjoyable day. I would love to see your cheeky, playful grin today.

Supermarkets open so with a touch of Christmas spirit collected the horses a freah bale of haylage. Nice to do some driving in the snow. -  it cleans the tyres wonderfully. Forget every year that locked rear axle differential is not conducive to turning corners on snow. Luckily remembered just before I demolished the buddlia.

Angie went to Ottobeuren to dispose of the Christmas packaging at the recycling yard. I had sent it all to the UK with their Xmas box but didn't reckon they would use it all to send their parcel to us. She took the dogs for a walk in the Bannwald. Flash adores snow except when it gets stuck between his toes. However today he didn't need his boots. Some photos on her journal.

I did a spot of snow blowing and ploughing. Not much lying (5-10cm) but it's wet and very heavy which together with todays temperature just above 0°C means all hell will break loose in a day or two when we are due to have day time temperatures of -10°C. Due to snow again tonight so will probably repeat the excercise tomorrow.

I was exhausted in the evening and couldn't even get the energy to go in the sauna, instead falling asleep on the sofa and so Angie was alone. She uses the breaks between the two sauna sessions to feed the horses. They must wonder what is going on when someone just "dressed" in a towel lets them in. Shame I didn't manage it as walking barefoot on cold snow really does wonders.

PS Yes I still haven't refitted the bonnet on the JD! Dr Bulldog, Jürgen, was hoping to give the JD a major overhaul this winter but he's up to his eyeballs in work so we have postponed it. The overhaul would have meant removing front loader and pulling the engine out, so I thought I could save him 3 minutes by leaving the bonnet off!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.