White horse

Back to the frosty Surrey heath this morning, quite a contrast to the snow covered uplands of Yorkshire. 

I don't know whether this is a trend - if so, it's a welcome one - but I noticed more home-made presents this Christmas. John made friendship bands as presents, his aunty made another sock puppet, George made hot sauces, Connie made painted plates and Gill made her hamper. We had more home-made cards too, including a classy one from a fellow blipper, and I made a few calendars as gifts. I hope it is a trend. The last time John made me a friendship bracelet, he was a teenager and I wore it at sea during the 1996-97 BT Global Challenge. There wasn't much to remind us of home and our families so it felt much more precious than a few woven coloured strands of yarn.

I always find this time between Christmas and New Year useful for reflection and looking ahead. I hope the new site here can be made to work, but after trying hard to like it, I'm struggling. I'm not sure where I want to take my photography next year but I'm looking for new directions. Perhaps the changes here will be a spur. Who knows? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.