Gifts of Grace

By grace

'Tis

The season of silhouettes - again.

I woke in the night naming the elephant in the room (metaphorically speaking).  I've always thought it was some kind of miracle or gift from god that a place like Blip (was) could exist for free on the net.  I think I was on here for a couple of years before I became a paid member.  And I've always thought that £25 was very little for what I got from being a member.


The elephant was this: what if all the bits that enabled the community to function - the ease of browsing, the seamless notifications/reply linking, the site-wide clickability, the forums  - are not sustainable as numbers increase because it simply costs too much to provide that much capacity?  Maybe Blipcentral don't want Blip to function the way it did before.  Perhaps they want to actively discourage us from browsing and interacting because it costs too much.


I've been struggling to articulate what has changed the feel of the place so much and to find a place to talk about it all - there's no obvious place to have such a discussion but there is a bit of a start in this thread here.

I'd love you to engage with this here or there, and do tell me if you think I'm completely paranoid.  The unthinkable thought that Blipcentral want to actively discourage community just makes sense of the changes to me.  I would so love to be wrong.

Edit: 31st December 2014 - I'm so grateful to you all waking me from a passing nightmare.  The final word is , I think, here.  A great start to the New Year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.