WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Wine press

Hurrah! I got up this morning to find the Deadbox was alive again. Pausing only to backblip (I do have my priorities), I hurried to get the work done that I didn't do yesterday because Mystère and I spent two hours in the vet's waiting room to get his annual vaccination done.

Naturally I didn't cancel the engineer's visit -- I'm not that stupid. The guys who turned up at lunchtime were contractors. Orange probably don't dare send their own staff to rural areas for fear they will be lynched. I admitted it was now working. The engineer said, "Well, if it stops working again, don't bother phoning Orange. Here's my number; just phone me, it's quicker." Great! I understood why he'd said this when I phoned Orange's "helpline" in the hope of solving the chocolate teapot problem. "Too many people are phoning us, " said the recorded message. "We can't cope." They are only a phone company after all. How naive we were when we signed up for this contract!

Anyway. This is one of my secret blip subjects; I've almost blipped it several times. The garden of the big house is full of interesting subjects, including this old wine press -- now purely decorative.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.