Leiflife

By Leiflife

Dancing Lesson

Julia and Bryce came with their parents in the morning. They had presents to open from their Nanny...with a few from my siblings as well. They completely accepted my "Tree": the nude dancing tree/woman painting that I recently blipped. I had strung blue lights around her and placed an old baby doll in a wicker carriage beneath. "Is that baby Jesus?" asked Bryce. "If you want it to be." said I. They began to unwrap their gifts, each in his/her own way. Julia with care...almost immediately settling in the papas an chair with her book from Nanny: The Flower Fairies.  I had remembered the book from my childhood...with its marvelous illustrations and sweet poems. Bryce tore and scattered gifts and paper, bounded around the room, then aimed himself at his older sister. At first she resisted...and resisted, finally handing me the book and pulling her brother into her arms. He stilled as she snuggled closing her eyes. Bryce's eyes were wide and thoughtful....but not for long.

I was observer even as I felt assaulted somewhat by the careening energy. His parents either tried to curtail his wildness, or joined him in the roughhousing he so desired. I could feel their tiredness, and Julia's efforts to stay in her own quieter space. I spoke the question that entered my mind. "What would Mama do?"

My mother was a first grade teacher: a genius at guiding her charges to something more interesting than the current behavior. She was rather good at distracting her own children as well. I remember sitting with her and pouring out my heart about some hopeless love affair, and her listening up to a point. Then came: "Where is that cat?" or "What a beautiful song that cardinal sings?" Well... This was toward the end of her life. But I knew what she meant. 

Back to Bryce and Julia and conflicting energies... I was suddenly on my feet, calling the children to dance with me. I pushed the button on the CD player and Susan Boyle was singing Christmas music and various other selections. (I know, but I had been trying to get in the mood) Julia was with me in an instant...moving, moving, totally in sync with her Nanny. Effortlessly, we attuned to the push and pull and flow of our mingled energies. Then came Bryce, a bit ornery at first, crawling between legs, or darting hither and thither. I had to remind him to touch without really touching (or hitting). Gradually he became truly engaged. I brought out a few of my old methods in guiding children to dance re/Airth. "Hey Bryce... We are going to run like the wind." We lined up at the end of the studio, breathed way in while leaning our bodies back, our arms behind our heads. "Now... Breathe out, let your arms swing forward and follow your breath. Let go!"  We let go...

After that Susan Boyle was doing her thing while we did ours. It felt wonderful. Energies intermingled. I was giving my grandchildren an Airth class...and they loved it. I loved it. My son, Vanja, took photographs...mostly blurred. What  else could one expect? We were dancing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.