One click at a time

By KeithKnight

Musical May - Miss Saigon - Missed Saigon

Miss Saigon is based on Puccini's Madame Butterfly, but moved to Saigon during the Vietnam War.

Having recently listened to the National Theatre of Brent's series - The Arts and How They Was Done, which dedicated a whole episode to Madame Butterfly, I can safely say that I know all that there is to know about that famous opera (NOT!)

I cannot say that I know any of the songs from Miss Saigon, but Paper Dragons caught my eye, so my first thought was to do a paper dragon. However, I couldn't get any Origami paper, and having tried with various pieces of paper to make up designs for paper dragons that I downloaded from the interweb thingy, I eventually gave that idea up as a bad job.

So onto the backup idea - I Missed Saigon. On the basis that the Vietcong would have used any weapon to hand, particularly silent ones, a dagger would have been a valid weapon in the Vietnam war, so this is my backup idea.

I printed the word 'Saigon', with a little warping and effects onto a sheet of paper, took a dagger (from Cluedo), stabbed the piece of paper, but missed the word Saigon, and then just to finish it off added a trickle of blood where the paper had been stabbed.

Tomorrow is a musical to make a song and dance about - it is Song and Dance, so my head will be well and truly scratched to come up with a blip for that one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.