CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Frosty Golden Valley morning

I got up to make tea this morning soon after the dawn although the direct light from the sun hadn't reached our valley as the hills to the east hide the actual sunrise from us.  By the time I had returned to bed with our various brews the rays were just beginning to touch Minchinhampton common on the top of the hills opposite to us.  There was a very prominent pinkish tone and I liked the way the rays were gradually hitting the windows of the farm house at Bagpath and reflecting the rays back to us.

I took some pictures with the window of my study open before the cold got to me and I headed for the warmth of the bed.  Bomble made an appearance in the garden tip-toeing delicately across the very white frosty grass to have a few smells and explore the trail left by the night's latest visitors, possibly badgers as well as other cats.

I checked the pictures I'd taken but wasn't impressed  as I hadn't caught the golden tones on top of the white frosted fields.  By mid-morning after I'd made some coffee I tried again because the sunlight seemed to be coming nearly horizontally from just above the hills behind The Heavens. I liked the way the shadows were lengthened but the frost cover hadn't melted at all.  The man walking his dog caught my eye too as he walked through the gap in the field's hedge boundary and headed up towards Claypits wood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.