Dérive

By oneD

Ice Face

This image reminds me of one of the most terrifying experiences of my life.
It was when I skied across a large frozen lake in Norway with a heavy rucksack. I was told it was safe but..... about two and a half kilometres in, half way across, large pools of water became visible. I was convinced these were holes and the ice was breaking up. I skied faster and faster but the far shore did not appear to get nearer. After skirting the pools with extreme feelings of panic I eventually made it. The pools I found out were just melting surface water and that the ice underneath was still thick enough.

-------------------------

Thanks very much for the hearts for the Robin. I am still unable to see who gave most of them in notifications.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.