MonoMonday: HOBBY: mm28

My neighbor, Sam, has been collecting stamps for almost 40 years. He has an amazing number of Albums with stamps from all over the world. Today he showed me some beautiful stamps dating back to the 1870's. He has wisely insured his collection for almost as much as my house is worth! Sam tells me that he is the youngest member of the stamp club that he belongs to, and fears that the hobby is "dying out". After doing a bit of reading on the net, I don't believe that's the case.

 Philately is the formal name for the Study of Stamps. Some collectors are in it for the monetary rewards when/if  their collections increase in value. I asked Sam if he ever sold any of his stamps. No...he would "never" sell his stamps! So I guess that classifies Sam as a Philatelist or 'True Stamp Collector'! Whenever we travel, he always reminds us to bring him back a few stamps. We always do. Thank you Skeena for once again hosting MonoMonday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.