Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

TIPSY

It's hard to stay sober in a hardware store.  I went there to look for an ice scraper as ours had mysteriously disappeared just as the mercury took a dive. We have minor domestics over detritus in the car.  My view is that everything you might ever need on a journey (yoga mats, scissors, sellotape, nail files, pens, wrapping paper, books, walking shoes and sticks, sweaters, jackets, gloves, sick bags, wipes, kitchen sinks, etc.) should remain in the car.  The Professor believes  that the weight of all these items increases fuel consumption, and he's probably right. 

This morning brought a  visit from our son and heir, followed by our oldest grandson who tried to explain fuzzy logic to me.  My brain felt very fuzzy after that so I needed a  wee lie down, but had to dash instead to my annual coronary check-up, where I was pronounced disgustingly healthy.  Interesting questions they ask at these consultations, e.g.  'Do you get breathless when you change the duvet cover?'  I wanted to say, 'Only when the Professor streaks naked through the bedroom.'  I was worried the nurse might comment on my weight gain, but I noted with a vicious pleasure that she had become somewhat plumptious herself over the last year. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.