Bristolwood and Beyond

By bristolwood

What's Going on Here?

Well, it seems kind of obvious that a bird the size of a Great Blue Heron probably doesn't need to flap its wings to appear larger....

Actually, I was fortunate enough to hop out of the car just as this Heron was coming in for a landing! I quickly snapped three photos in succession and all three turned out. Thank you, Nikon for such fabulous focus in "P" mode! Otherwise, well...

I had taken several photos of the Heron in flight, but was disappointed. I had taken such photos before, and the bird was so far out in the distance, they weren't as good as I wanted.

Suddenly, a Gull came along and the Heron seemed to get its feathers ruffled (pun intended!!!) as it took off seemingly after the Gull! The Heron flew over toward the shore and I captured the "touchdown". The large bird grew immensely larger!!! I am wondering if perhaps there might be a nest amongst the reeds as I have seen a Heron in this exact place before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.