Mono Monday: Hobby

Since I am a person who has dabbled in a lot of things, I spent the better part of the afternoon photographing paintbrushes, Dana and her puppy, a pile of garments that I have made and embellished by hand, and some knitting needles. Then I spent a lot much more time uploading them to the computer and playing around with them. 

Dana and her puppy were a picture in black and white as he languished in her lap, but it would be a stretch to call them my hobby….

As I played with my paintbrushes and little tubes of paint, it occurred to me that perhaps those are the very things I like best about painting! I love collecting them. I love the way they look in the box, I love the feel of the paper and the way the colors go together, but I'm not so fond of what happens when I try to paint something….

I have been working on the same section (the third of four) of a skirt for two years, so I can hardly think of it as a hobby, although I am determined to finish it. Hope I can still squeeze into it!

I haven't knit anything in several years, and when I realized that I didn't really have anything but the knitting needles for a photograph, no wool, no completed garments, not even one in progress, I decided maybe that's not a hobby right now either.

Then it hit me. What have I been doing all afternoon? Blipfoto! 

Many thanks for Skeena for persevering with organizing this challenge. It has gone from being a sort of emergency blip for me, to making me think about how best to meet it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.