Scrawny Old Man

By richtoller

1001 miles

A while ago I realised I was getting close to 1000 miles running this year (to put this in perspective, one of my running friends has passed her target of 2014 miles in 2014). Not a huge distance or a target, but still - a lot better than 999.
Didn't think I was quite going to make it but last night's 7.5 mile trail run took me to 989.5 so I had 2 days to do 10.5. Today I went out to the Lomond Hills to recce some of the Devil's Burdens (a relay race in January). Decided on a long option, tried a short cut, got a bit lost in zero visibility - probably didn't add a lot of distance but slowed me down a lot on very rough tussocky ground - went round in a circle and met myself coming in the opposite direction.
Realised I was going to be well over 10.5 miles for the run - maybe a photo at the 1000 mile point? But that was dull; a mile further on, as I started my descent to my starting point, Strathmiglo (on left of picture) this view appeared, and even a bit of sun.
Finished on 14.4 miles, with 2585 feet of ascent, but I'm not going to tell you how long it took.
I'm going to have a rest tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.