Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Red Mittens - Old Memories

Dear Diary,

I visited my dear friend yesterday.  She will be 94 this February.  She always makes me something special for Christmas and this year it was a pair of red mittens.  Awhile back I wrote about how my grandmother would make new red mittens for all the children in the family each Christmas.  I dearly wish I had one of those pairs but this is wonderful too .I told her about my grandmother's mittens and she set about giving me back that special memory and it was so touching. Each time I put on the mittens, two wonderful women will warm my hands and my heart.

She is a very special lady and her friendship has been like having my grandmother back with me.  She's taught me her famous pie crust recipe, helped me complete a special quilting project, and been a wonderful friend.  Perhaps, that is the best gift of all.

One of the most beautiful qualities of true friendship is to understand and to be understood.

- Lucius Annaeus Seneca

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.